01 May 2006

Five EU member states not to open borders


01 May 2006 11:42

Five members of the European Union have decided not to open up their labour markets to workers from the new EU states.

France, Germany, Italy, the Netherlands and Austria confirmed this morning that they will not be applying the Union's open-border policy.

Greece, Portugal, Spain and Finland have all chosen to open their borders.

Up until now only Ireland, Britain and Sweden had allowed unrestricted access to workers from the accession states. The ten new states joined the EU two years ago today.

Germany and Austria in particular have insisted that they would face an unsustainable influx of migrants from Poland and Hungary if they fully applied EU laws on the free movement of workers.

Comments: Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?