15 February 2006

Mayo County Council to mark 1981 H-Block Hunger Strike

Sinn Féin

Published: 14 February, 2006

Image Hosted by ImageShack.us

Sinn Fein County Councillor Gerry Murray has welcomed the decision by Mayo County Council to commemorate the 25th Anniversary of the 1981 H-Block hunger strike. Councillor Murray’s motion calling on the Council to commemorate the Hunger strike was supported by all Political Parties on the Council.

In a statement Cllr Murray said, “I wish to thank all my colleagues on Mayo County Council for supporting my motion to commemorate the 1981 Hunger Strike. It is entirely appropriate that Mayo County Council should be the first local authority in Ireland to formally decide to mark this defining moment in Irish History. Mayo is the home of Jack McNeeila, Michael Gaughan and Frank Stagg all of whom died on hunger strike. I sincerely hope that other County Councils through out the Country will follow our lead and honour Bobby Sands and his nine comrades by remembering their sacrifice.” ENDS

Comments: Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home

This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?